PCC -1
(From Piccadilly Circus Circus – August 2013)

I thought I would pause to reflect on the past year and the many projects I have undertaken. I have taken many opportunities this year, made some more contacts and widened my experience.

Following the end of my term as ‘Director of Plot’ for a Live Action Roleplay system in August 2012, the weekend after the bank holiday was a cultural event as part of the Olympiad. The event was a secret circus; a mostly unannounced takeover of Regents Street and Piccadilly Circus. I was on a stage of mostly trapeze artists, with a youth circus as well. The above picture was this crazy French circus group who threw themselves around so much one of them broke his ankle in rehearsals.

Shortly after that I worked a few shifts on the superb ‘You Me Bum Bum train’. I cannot take much credit for the phenomenal efforts of the production but I was really glad to just be a small part of it. I can’t say too much about it either but it was a fantastic production.

After that I worked on my first musical, ‘RENT’ at the Cockpit theatre operating lights from a Strand 300. This is how I became involved with Interval Productions.

RENT_COCKPIT-1025-620x330RENT
(Darren Bell)

From there I went to CityLit where I worked on the incomparable ‘Dreamplay’ by August Strinberg and adapted by Carol Churchill. A fascinating play so layered with meaning that summoned my inner director and gave me the desire to direct it myself some day.

Shortly after that I returned to Interval and the Cockpit to work on the powerful and important ‘Streets Project’.

Streets1
(Darren Bell)

‘The Streets’ was a compelling tale of people on the ‘bottom broken rung’ of the ladder in London at the time of the riots. Others had attempted to cover this subject but this one hit the nail on the head. It got nominated for writing and best new musical at the ‘OffwestEnd’ awards so I was proud to be a part of it. Working in theatre, you always hope that you can be proud of what you do and that the work is significant. I think that everyone involved with ‘Streets’ feels that it is special.

Imagine how delighted we were then that we got to stage it for one day at Hackney Empire in June 2013! A one day showcase that drained us all but was incredible to be part of.

As autumn came I was invited to work on ‘Another Way’ with Interval. In many ways a reaction to the harsh reality of ‘Streets’ this charming musical was about the joy of making people happy. Again, this was nominated for awards and was a pleasure to be a part of.

another way
(Darren Bell)

Finally, I finished 2013 with the pantomime at Hackney Empire, ‘Puss, IN BOOTS DEM’ which I loved from start to finish (all 63 shows worth!)

This weekend is the retrospective celebration for Interval Productions; ‘Interval so far’ (http://thecockpit.org.uk/show/interval_so_far) which I can’t wait for because I will get to see so many of the wonderful and lovely people I have worked with over the past year and a bit. It feels a bit like a ‘greatest hits’ but with the thought that the next chapter is beginning. Now I look to the future and what shows 2014 will bring. I just hope that I get to meet even more wonderful people and get to work on more wonderful shows in the industry that I love with everything I am.

Dress me in black, live in the dark and I would not rather be anywhere else.