For ‘Wordplay #4’ on Nika Harper’s vlog.

See here:

“What happened to your dolls Jane dear?”

“Put them away.”  I said as I placed the plastic tea set on the round footstool, ignoring Mother’s gaze.  The sunshine made the yellow plastic cups glow.

“Are you going to have a tea party?”

“Yes Mama.”

“Are you going to get your dolls?”

“No Mama.”

“Who is coming to your tea party?”

“Wool-fs.”

“Wolves don’t drink tea dear.”

“Yes they do.  I saw them.”

“On television?”

“In the wood.”

“In a storybook?”

“In the wood.”

“Is this a story you heard?”

“No Mama.”

“Now Jane.  Packs of wolves do not have tea parties in real life.”

 “Yes.  They.  Do.  In the wood.”

“Did Klaudia take you into the wood?  You know you are not allowed to go into the wood.  I specifically told her you were not allowed to play in the wood.  Did she Jane?”

I shook my head.

“Wolves don’t have tea parties or dinner parties or any other kind of party.”

“They gather around the fire at night.”

“What?  Don’t be ridiculous.  No more stories from you.”

“They sing songs under the starlight.”

All the reply I got to that was a snort.

“I invited them here.  You always say to return the favours.”

“Jane.  I won’t tell you again.  Enough with these stories.”

“They said you would say that.”

“I beg your pardon?”

“They said you wouldn’t believe me.  They said you wouldn’t let them in.  But they will huff and they will puff and they will blow the door in.”

She laughed a quiet patronising snigger.

“I’m so glad I found them Mama.  I’m so glad I won’t have to stay here for much longer.”

My Mother met my eyes.  I could see her irritation boiling up.  As she opened her mouth to speak, I prepared myself for another telling-off; physically bracing until I heard the knock on the door.  The rap and scratch of a paw.  The wolves were at the door.

Would recommend following the Vlog and joining the community on the Geek and Sundry forums.